Shoot Through Umbrellas

picky54

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Recently purchased a Cowboystudio outfit with 105w CFLs and shoot through umbrellas. was expecting to get a "Full Moon" type of light but am getting an 8 point star effect. Am I doing something wrong or is this normal and should I be looking at reflecting umbrellas instead to give me more light.This is my first time useing studio lighting but have been an enthusiastic amature photographer for many years, currently useing a Nikon D7000.

Attachments

• $Shoot through.jpg
    $Shoot through.jpg
    395.5 KB · Views: 140
Well, that umbrella has eight ribs, and eight fabric segments...its reflection will have an eight-sided shape.Now, on "people shots" the eight-sided shape is barely noticeable; on things like glassware and highly reflective, hard-surfaced objects, yes, the reflections will likely be larger and much quite-noticeable.

Thanks for the reply but my point is the amount of light getting to the subject is not what I was expecting, and without pushing the ISO considrably thus giving me a grainier shot I would have to use my SB600. Sould I consider investing in a couple of reflecting umbrellas, or is there anyway I can get more light from the shoot through's.

Thanks for the reply but my point is the amount of light getting to the subject is not what I was expecting, and without pushing the ISO considrably thus giving me a grainier shot I would have to use my SB600. Sould I consider investing in a couple of reflecting umbrellas, or is there anyway I can get more light from the shoot through's.

Either try a reflecting umbrella, a softbox or buy more speedlights (or a more powerful one).

Thanks for that Sparky, looks like the reflecting umbrella is my best (subsitute cheapest lol) option, unless anyone else has any ideas. Can you buy 4 rib umbrellas?