Shooting a friend with "challenging" features

rmgreenstreet

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hi, I'm Rob and I'm new to the photo forum. I think I've found the correct forum in which to post, but if not, please bump this to the correct area.

That being said, I have a dilemma. I feel like my shooting skills are on the higher end of amateur, and I'm working on progressing them even further. One of the ways I want to do that is to take new profile pictures for friends of mine on Facebook. It went well for a family I know, since they're all fairly normal looking people. The problem I have now is that I have a friend who is in her 30s, on the heavier side, and probably wouldn't be most people's choice for belle of the ball, and she wants me to do a portrait for her. I love her to death, but I'm afraid I won't be able to make her look good, at my current skill level. Hopefully the collective wisdom of forum members can help me out. Here's her profile picture, currently:

https://www.facebook.com/photo.php?...20145498857.2057749.1089258279&type=1&theater

What I have available to me are:
-Several very nice natural backdrops from the downtown area of my city
-Nikon D3000
-18-55mm Nikkor dx kit lens with minimum aperture at 3.5 and max at 22, with 5.6 being the widest at the 55mm zoom
-old yashica 50mm f1.7 with a nikon adapter
-yashica 28mm f2.8 with nikon adapter
-yashica 80-200mm f1.4 with nikon adapter
--Keep in mind, even the nikkor lens has a 1.5x conversion factor, since the camera has the smaller sensor, and I'm pretty sure the manual lenses with the adapter have an even larger conversion factor. I may be working with closer to 400mm on the end of that telephoto lens.
-remote trigger for the camera
-one (1) Nikon sb-600 flash with remote trigger capabilities
-light stand and shoot through umbrella
-a collection of lighting gels including full CTO, half CTO, full and half CTB, and Window Green. The standard stuff.