Shooting in the Snow

Renegrenade

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Hi all,

I'd like to ask a bit of advice. I'm going to be going for a week-long trip to somewhere where it's going to snow a LOT, and be very cold - we're talking -20C or thereabouts. I am in the fortunate enough position to own some nice equipment, and I want to be taking some good shots in snowy conditions where most everything is white.

I'm somewhat new to metering and while I've been messing with a lot of the functions of my camera in Program or Manual, I haven't actually toyed with metering at all to date - which I'm guessing is somewhat required if I'm going to be shooting in the snow.

So I'm looking for any helpful general advice regarding the above, and also any tips from people who enjoy shooting in these kind of conditions with these kind of colours!

Many thanks in advance!

if it's going to be that cold you want to keep your battery's warm(take extra's if you can't recharge them). even the one in your camera should be kept warm inside your gloves or pant pocket.

as far as metering, try a program mode first if you don't like the result try different settings in manual mode. and keep track of your data so you can compare later.

where are you going?

Going from extreme cold to room temp can cause condensation inside your camera. Having a way to protect from this will help you... Some people suggest a large zip lock bag (put your camera in it to prevent condensation). I havent tried it yet... But I've heard that it works well.

As for metering... Snowscapes generally OVEREXPOSE so you'll want to adjust for that.

Last edited:
Well, if you are shooting a bright white, snowy scene, your cameras light meter will pretty much freak out, and turn everything gray.