Shopping for a new camera

phipps68

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Hello everyone,
I am a new member to this site! I am looking to purchase a new camera. When I say new I mean new to me.
I have been researching camera reviews and other magazines with camera reviews. I have been using Canon cameras mostly for the last 10 years . I am comfortable with the user interface as far as navigating through menus and such.... my question and what I need help with is deciding which camera to select. I have the chance to buy a EOS40D and it comes with a 28-135 and a 28-210 as well as other goodies... The man was asking $900.00 and I got him down to $750.00 the other cameras are: Canon EOS Rebel T3i with EF-S 18-55mm 18 MP & EF 75-300mm Brand New - $750.00 or a Canon T3i w an 18-55 lens for $800.00 and last a Canon T1i with 28-200mm Lens - $550.... My gut tells me to go with the EOS40D but it only has 10mp. Is that really an issue? I know the 40D is not plastic like the others from what I have read but if I am spending 750.00 I want to make sure i am buying the right camera. I mainly shoot action pics of a motorcycle stunt team, but i also like landscapes, abstract photos, close ups and and other candid shots of my nephews..... any thoughts?

Megapixles don't matter.

As far as the 40D, would getting it mean you wouldn't have money to buy a flash? I would go with whatever kit that's price also allowed me budget enough to get a tripod, a flash, some memory cards, a few books, and some software. Personally, I would stay clear of the Canon T's altogether, but that's just me.