Ari8

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Hello,

I am a beginner (passionate) photographer and I bought my olympus OMD E-M10 around a year ago. It came with the kit lens M. Zuiko 14-42mm EZ and the M.ZUIKO DIGITAL ED 40-150mm 1:4.0-5.6 R. After a year playing with it, I find myself not being very satisfied with my pictures anymore and was wondering if I chose the wrong camera or lenses (not that I really chose my lenses.. they came with the camera).

I do mostly street, lanscape and cityscape photography, including night pictures. The street shots are mostly good but lanscape and night shots kind of lackluster. More specifically I find these pictures not to be very sharp and to have a lot of background noise, even when I stay in reasonable ISO and aperture ranges. Also, I occasionally like to in-room some bokeh effect but did not get great results yet.

I find myself a bit stuck now and would love some input on any technique/equipment that would help.

Thanks!

While the camera/lens does have some affect on mage sharpness, photographer skill and knowledge has a lot to do with it too.
Most digital cameras have an anti-aliasing (AA) filter on front of the image sensor. How aggressive the AA filter is in each make/model of camera varies. Some are very aggressive, some aren't, and some cameras don't have an AA filter. The AA filter helps avoid moiré.

Using the appropriate auto focus mode and auto focus area mode for the shooting situation is important as far as setting up the camera. If you use inappropriate setting no camera is going to deliver sharp photos.

Understanding how to control depth-of-field is also very important since several factors are involved - point-of-focus distance relative to lens aperture, lens focal length, how far behind your main subject the background is.

The relationship between lens aperture, shutter speed, and the ISO settings matter too, particularly for minimizing image noise in the darker parts of a scene.