Shutter Count

xxarmando

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hello everyone. I have been reading around a lot about shutter count and how a camera has x amounts of shots it takes before it "breaks". As as beginner to photography this has me somewhat concern. I have a D7100 and it already has around 800 shutter count. It's been about 3 weeks that I have the camera. As a beginner I take pictures of everything without thinking twice, and multiple shots to find the right aperture and shutter speed, ISO etc. I would like to know how important the shutter count is, and also if anyone knows the count on the D7100. I might have to start taking less unimportant shots and planning more.

Also what are your shutter counts, would be interesting to see everyone's. Again I am new to photography all around and I am taking multiple shots to see how certain things affect others.

P.S If my the shutter in my camera reaches it's limit and starts having problems does the whole camera become useless or is there anything I can do to put maybe a new piece or sent it to Nikon down the line for repair? and how much would it be if such thing exists.

Last edited:
lol if it makes you feel better, I've had my camera since the 14th, I think I have over 1100 already? Took 670 yesterday alone. Im interested in the awnser to this though. Btw it doesn't "break" to my knowledge, just its not rated for life after that, kind of like hours for an LCD screen.

Most DSLR shutters are rated for around 100,000 actuations (pro models are higher than that, even). That doesn't really mean anything about your specific camera, any more than you can expect "around" 100,000 miles on a car, for instance. You might see problems before or well after, but that gives you a rough idea what sort of numbers you're looking at.