Sigma 150-500mm DG APO HSM f5-6.3 Hands On Review (Nikon Mount)

matthewo

Been spending a lot of time on here!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
To start off I would like to say, this is not a technical review at all, this is a real world use review. I have no means or know how to test the lenses technical aspects. Also there are many sites that already have the technical aspects of the lens tested.

I got the sigma a little while ago, but the other day was the first time I really got to use it other than some birding in my backyard.

Ok so let's get into it. As we all know the sigma 150-500mm is a wide range zoom super telephoto lens. It's price range puts it anywhere from $800-$900 in the used price range. and $1000-$1100 new. it is also a F5-6.3 variable aperture. Now, there isn't really much else that is a direct competitor as far as price goes, other than the tamron 200-500mm, which I have no experience with. Most other super telephoto primes that surpass 300mm are well over $3000. There also is the Nikon 80-400 vr, but it's also in the $1800 price range. I have also owned the Nikon 70-300 vr, which I never felt was enough reach for my liking, I was always using it maxed out at 300mm and it was quite soft there. I would also like to say I was never very happy with the results using a sigma 70-200 and a 1.4x teleconverter.