sizing and printin

maria_abraxar

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hi all
I’m fairly new to photography but have been practicing hard and would like to get some of my images printed and mounted so that I can try and sell some to local galleries. I'm using a Canon 5D

As I have never done this before can anyone help with any of the following...

Is it ok to resize my .tiff files (converted from RAW) in CS2 by simply resizing upwards (constraining proportions)? My images are opening up at about 14 x 9 ins), and I'm hoping to print at about 12 x 16 ins. The resolution is 300 ppi so I figure that it could handle the enlargement. Am I right or is there a better way to do this? I have Scott Kelby's Photoshop CS2 book but he only talks about resizing for poster sized prints, I'm guessing that the principle is the same?

When getting images professionally printed;
Is it best to stick to standard sizes i.e. 10 x 8 or should I crop to suit the image and then mount accordingly?

Do I need to crop generously to allow for mount, how much would you recommend?

Is matt paper more popular than glossy?

To begin with is it better to buy ready made frames and just use the mount supplied, or is this really a bad idea. Should I be thinking about paying out for someone to mount and frame the images to have them look their best?

Finally if havin the printing done professionally is it better to stick with standard size images eg 10 x8 / 12/16 etc or just crop to suit the image and let the framer worry about the sizing?

Any other advice re printing/ framing / selling/ galleries etc very much appreciated.

Many many thanks for help with any of these questions.
Maria