Slide Film!

Happy Medium

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
I'm looking at starting to shoot slide film. I've been looking at Fujifilm Astia 100F and Provia 100 in particular. Does anybody have any experience with these, or any ideas for good slide film in general? As I said, I'm new to the idea and really don't know where to start. Thanks!

I've used Astia for portraits - Good stuff. Provia has a bit more contrast IMO so I'd use it for landscape stuff more than portrait work.

Happy Medium:

You might find the extensive information at the sites below more than useful.

http://www.imx.nl/photosite/technical/kodachrome.html

http://www.imx.nl/photosite/technical/E100G/E100G.html

As for myself, I much prefer Kodachrome 64 - mostly because of the longevity of the dyes and the image - not to mention the fine detail, etc.

Of course, it will also make a difference as to what projector you will be using to project your slides. Previously, I posted a great deal of information on Leica projectors at this site and you might find it useful reading or reference material.

Hope these inforamtional links are more than useful.

Best regards in your photographic endeavors.

Bill

I use Provia and Velvia often--I shoot a lot of outdoor and landscapes. Provia is my favorite. Velvia delivers more color if that's what you like in your photographs--for some people's taste it may be overkill.

I just got back from the Island of Capri (Italy). I used Velvia 50 on a very bright sunny day. I usually like the extra color in my landscapes, but this was the one time I thought it was too much. I was disappointed in the results. I think the natural vibrant colors of the ocean and shorelines alone would have been enough, the Velvia put it over the top for me.

I have not used Astia, but I've heard equally good things about it. As others might say, experiment with all three and see what you think.