Small home studio set-up advice

FlourishPhoto

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Hi, I'm a newbie looking to create my first home studio to photograph babies and young children. I have a spare bedroom 7.5ft wide x 14ft long x 8.5ft ceilings, that I plan to paint all white, that has one big window with blackout curtains. I know this room is too small, but I figure I'll give it a go and if it doesn't work I'll take over the living room ;)
I'm hoping someone can give an opinion on the gear I picked out:
  • Nikon D800
  • Portrait lens (any suggestions?)
  • AlienBees B800 White Studio Flash + Large Softbox + Impact Air-cushioned Heavy Stand 9.5'
  • LumoPro LP160 Manual Flash + Impact Air-cushioned Light Stand 8' + Umbrella (I like that I can take this flash along on field trips)
  • Square Perfect SP2000 Backdrop Background Support
Any help is greatly appreciated!

Personally, I'd paint it flat black. White walls make it hard to control the light.

And photography is all about light.

I'd even add heavy black cotton velour curtains on 3 of the walls to avoid any kind of reflection, one wall painted white for background, several fabric backgrounds and many toys/teddies for the kids you intend to take pics of...
about studio flashes, personally I worked with 3-4 and lastolite reflectors