MarshallClay

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I am so ashamed and embarassed that this is my first post here on the forums. (I am a brand new photographer and bought my first DSLR a short while ago). Anyway, late last week I got a brand new polarizing filter for my lens, and drove to a beautiful place to take photos.
First I took some without the polarizing lens, and then I decided it was time to bust out my new baby. (It was a blue water quarry and it was going to be amazing). I pulled the lens out of its protective case and... it slipped out of my hand and landed on the gravel I was standing on. It didn't shatter or hurt the glass, but it slightly bent the threads on it. I stood there just stupidly staring at it on the ground for about 15 seconds, then I picked it up and checked to see the damage. I made sure it wasn't too bad before putting it on my lens (wasn't in the mood to risk cross threading or it getting stuck if it looked too bad).
Good news is that it went on okay, maybe a little snugger than usual...

I'm sorry for the sob story. I guess I was just hoping someone could give me some comfort to encourage me to get out and start shooting again. I feel paranoid that something won't be good enough anymore or that I've tainted my camera lol. I know, I'm ridiculous... I'm a perfectionist when I look at my products and hate to see them damaged.

Anyway, thanks for reading!
- Marshall

I feel for you, but I'll never use filters again.

Welcome to the forum!!!
Don´t feel embarrassed - things like that happen. In the end it will make you care even more for your equipment. It´s better to drop a filter than a camera ;).
If it does screw onto your camera without at one point feeling really hard, but is rather snugger from beginning to the end, it should be fine.
I looooove polarizers. Currently I´m on Santorini, Greece and I couldn´t live without ;)

our-lives-are-in-your-hands-and-you-ve-got-butter-fingers_design.png