So Im going to the NYKnicks homeopener on Saturday but...

pantherlax

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
I'm a highschool student taking a Photography I class...and i really like photography so far and am getting into it...
I asked my teacher if i can take a camera out and take pictures at the Knicks game, but I've got some problems and questions.

We've learned about F-stops and apertures and light and stuff but i am still confused about lighting, although i have a light meter on the camera..

1) I'm guessing that I will not be in the brightest atmosphere, but I want to use a high shutter time, of 2000 or 1500...and i probably need an aperture with a long depth of field cause we're gonna be sitting in the upperdeck somewhere...What f-stop do i use? Do i have to sacrifice shutter speed to be able to allow enough light in? I want to be able to freeze the players motions in my photos but still allow enough light in...

Im sure some people have been to a basketball game before and can tell me also by experience.

2)Well, I seem to have a greater problem...my light meter on the camera seems to be broken. Even if i change my fstop or shutterspeed the meter will not move but the bars stay at the bottom, at 'not enough light'. Is there some button that i have to press to fix it or is my camera broken and i cant do anything about it but return it to my teacher?

Thanks for reading my long post lol...

hi pantherlax,

Your post caught my attention, because my wife and I will be at the game too! It's our first time at a basketball game (we've moved to NY from Europe) and I checked out the Knicks website and it says: 'no cameras allowed in the building'. That is not true?

(sorry I want to help you out on the photo questions, but I am also new to photography).

pascal