Software Help

DennyN

No longer a newbie, moving up!
Reaction score
Website
dennynoll.smugmug.com
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I am a newbie with minimal experience with real photography. Currently I use GIMP and PhotoScape for editing. I see LightRoom with Photoshop is available now online for $10 a month Compare plans |Adobe Creative Cloud Photography plan
Should I consider getting it? I tried the LightRoom free 7 day download but have not tried the Photoshop that comes with the photography plan. Any input would be appreciated.
Denny Noll

Last edited:
You've opened pandora's box of opinions with your question, as the pay to own crowd will say they're right and the monthly plan crowd will claim they're right. I've had both, and by and large I like the subscription plan with Adobe. You always have the latest and greatest updates, and I'm not so sure it isn't the same as the owned license once you figure in the upgrade costs. I can't tell you over the year how many $$$$ I've spent on software only to find that it wasn't that great. I'm afraid the software subscription plan is going to be the wave of the future as more and more companies switch to it. My Microsoft Office switched to a subscription plan, my security software is a subscription plan, and now one of the accounting packages I use will be switching to a subscription the end of this year. The advantage of LR and PS is that for newbe there are tons and tons of free youtube videos out there, plus it seems to be the standard that others always try to emulate.

The question is, do you NEED or WANT the extra capabilities of PS?
If not, you would be paying extra for something you don't/won't use.
If GIMP and PhotoScape works for you, there is no reason to go to the Adobe product.
If you want to learn PhotoShop, then you have no option.

There are pros and cons to the subscription model, and one can argue either case.
You have to decide if it works for you.