SONY A7

vipgraphx

No longer a newbie, moving up!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
First off sorry for a long post....

Has anyone been able to shoot with the Sony A7 yet?

Price aside, do you folks think this Camera is a camera that will last for many years to come? Do you think this camera will hold its value? Do you think its a camera is more than just a toy full frame point and shoot camera? Do you think
this camera will give the perception of professional photographer?

Reason I ask is because there is no place in town where I can test one out. I know the NEX 6 feels like a toy camera in hand and feels like just a step up from a point and shoot. Being that I am used to Nikons and coming from the gripped D700 which was heavy and bulky and just felt like a mans camera ( no offense ladies ). When I had the 14 - 24 2.8 on there or the 70-200 VR II 2.8 I was always asked if I was a working pro. Once on vacation in Disneyland I was asked if I has a Disney photographer taking pictures for a special event, hahhahahaha. Seems like that camera just draws that attention and people take you more seriously where as the sony ned 6 looks like a soccer mom/dads camera regardless of how great the quality images it can produce.

Also a reason I ask is that I know with Nikon I never seem to have a problem reselling any items and that they held their value very well and since I am not familiar with sony or this type of camera especially since it is so new will it hold its value if later one would want to sell it down the road.

Another reason I ask is that with all my nikons from the D50,D90 D7000 to the D700 they all felt very well built and I never worried about breaking them or putting them down on something to take a shot and what not. The sony NEX 6 that I have been testing I feel like I need to be more cautious while handling it especially since it is nearly 100 % all electrical, seems like more electrical parts to go wrong or fail.