Sony NEX-5

ptuchtenhagen

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Anyone ever use this camera? Do you have any strong opinions on it? I'm looking at getting one and I just wanted to see if there was any feedback on the web from real photographers.

Thanks!

Unless you have a very important need to minimize size, or unless you get some KILLER deal, I would never buy this camera over a true dSLR in the same price range.

I guess I should give some reasoning. I will use the Canon T2i as an example since its in the same price range. There are hundreds of lenses available for the T2i and only 3 for the Sony. The T2i has a higher resolution, longer battery life, less shutter lag, faster AF, better LCD, and a built in flash. Plus, it has an actual "through the lens" viewfinder.

Last edited:
Hi, i am new to the forum.
i currently own a Sony Nex-5, I'm not a professional photographer bu i thought i'll give my imput.
This is my first dSLR camera, so ireally havenothing to compare it with, the only reason i got this camera over a other "better" cameras is only the size.
I am super happy with the camera, i got rid of the 18-55 mm lens that came with it and purchased a TAMRON AF 18-200mm XR Di II LENS with a adapter from A-mount to E-mount.

When i show my camera around to the Pros', they all say that this camera is clearely for beginers because the way is designed.
I agree that the camera is a bit overpriced but i really just paid for the size.

If you are interested to see any sample pictures just let me know...

ptuchtenhagen said:
Anyone ever use this camera? Do you have any strong opinions on it? I'm looking at getting one and I just wanted to see if there was any feedback on the web from real photographers.

Thanks!

Hi, I am just join the forum.

I am using sony nex 5 currently. Previously I used canon 400D. Overall, my score is 7 out of 10. Yes, normal DSLR as my previous canon is better then nex 5. But for some reason, yes due to its size, I am happy using this camera.