spec inside the camera body! need help.

blitzkrieg69

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Im a noob, as you can see. looking through the the camera i seen a spec. cleaned both ends of lense and i think its on the reflection thing in the camera body. can i use my brush to try to clean it off there? didnt know if i would mess it up somehow.

Thanks in advance

and i think its on the reflection thing in the camera body
That 'reflection thing' is called the mirror. ;)

You can try to clean the mirror, but be very very careful. If you knock the mirror out of alignment, it will be a big problem.

If you can live with the spec, it's not a big deal as it won't affect the image at all. When you press the shutter release, the mirror flips up and out of the way...it's only there so you can see out of the lens with the viewfinder.

The spec is most likely located on the underside of the viewfinder screen, which is located above the mirror. DO NOT CLEAN, or even touch or brush the angled mirror inside your camera--the mirror is very fragile,very delicate,and its precise location is critical for autofocus accuracy. A mirror can be quite dusty and dirty and filmy,and not affect the viewing image very much. You can NOT, I repeat, can NOT see dust or lint or fibers on the mirror surface--that surface is not in focus; what you see is on the viewfinder screen, above the mirror.

Yeah, there could be a speck of lint (sweaters and knitted hats, gloves, etc, anything made of yarn are particularly bad for this, BTW) on the viewfinder screen. Remove the lens and then blow hard on your hand three or four times, to make sure no little spittle drops go flying, and then blow the lint or fiber off the viewfinder screen. Replace lens. Be happy!

Just as an aside--there are going to be more specks in the future. That is guaranteed. You might as well get used to it and not worry until there are many of them.