Spot on Pictures

amandamw

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Hello all!

I'm new to the world of photography/DSLRs! I bought a Canon Rebel XS with a EF-S 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6 IS lens about 7 months ago. I recently moved to Italy with my husband, and have been taking pictures everywhere I go!

Anyway, this past weekend while I was out and about taking pictures I noticed a dark spot on most of my pictures. Grrrr. It seems to show up on blue/sky the most. Anyone know what this little spot could be, and how I can get it off?

IMG_4241-1.jpg

Last edited:
it's dust on the sensor. it shows up in blue and white much easier than other colors. I had that problem all the time until I got a camera that had a sensor cleaning mode.

lets see if i remember this right. Point up at an overcast or blue sky white paper or whatever light solid background you can find. set your mode to AV, ISO to 100 and set for max aperture f22 or whatever it may be. Focus to infinity and take a shor. You should be able to see any specs that are there fairly clearly.

lets see if i remember this right. Point up at an overcast or blue sky white paper or whatever light solid background you can find. set your mode to AV, ISO to 100 and set for max aperture f22 or whatever it may be. Focus to infinity and take a shor. You should be able to see any specs that are there fairly clearly.

Looks like it worked....

IMG_4251.jpg

My camera does have a sensor cleaning mode, but I guess it didn't work too well.

Would it be best to find a camera store, and see if they can fix it?

If you're concerned doing it yourself and you don't mind spending the fiat money most of us use now days, sure why not?

Last edited:
[

My camera does have a sensor cleaning mode, but I guess it didn't work too well.

Would it be best to find a camera store, and see if they can fix it?