Starting a small portrait studio.

BigRC

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Website
www.capturedandframed.com
Ok, here's the situation. I'm starting a small portrait studio, and I have a few questions for anyone that may be able to answer them.

1. Digital backdrops. Are they worth it, or worthless?
2. Pricing. I'm not a professional studio photographer, but I'm above average. What's a good starting price for a newbie?
3. Niche markets. Is there anyone else here that does something "different". Offers something the pro's or the major's (Wal-Mart, Sears, JCPenny's) don't? If so, what?
4. If digital backdrops aren't acceptable, or reliable, are there any wholesell backdrop sellers anyone is familiar and happy with?

Hmmm... that's all I can think of at the moment, as I don't have the studio yet, so I haven't had any working questions, just basic startup questions. If anyone would be kind enough to lend me a few suggestions, even if the questions weren't asked, I'd be greatly obliged... Thanks!!!

Randy

I don't mean to hijack your thread BigRC, but I have the exact same questions, so I'm just trying to not start up a new thread.

Please someone, answer this person's questions, for the both of us :)

First, go here [ame]http://www.amazon.com/Best-Business-Practices-Photographers-Harrington/dp/1598633155[/ame]
and buy the book!!

Read the book front to back twice and then come back and re-ask your questions.

I'm not being a smart-a** here It's just that if you are going to start a business then you need first to concentrate on the Business part.

Give that a read and you will thank me! ;)

miike

Build your own backdrops in various colors...they're cheaper and more durable. Go to home depot, but a 12ft canvas dropcloth, a gallon of latex paint, and a roller. Costs about $40. Way better than paper or that $100 muslin crap you see everywhere online.