Studio Lighting. How does this setup look ?

dbrandon

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Website
www.viaus.co.uk
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Basically i'm wanting to delve into the world of studio lighting, starting with getting setup with a softbox. I've had a look around, and cant find a 'kit' which really fits what im after, so i've decided to purchase a flash head, stand, and softbox, all seperately.

I am on a tight budget, and im am really looking to get good value for money. After some reasearch i have come to the conclusion that a Interfit Stellar 600W flash head would fit my needs. Anyone had experience with this particular flash head ? I'm new to lighting, so any advice is greatly appreciated.

I also plan to buy this and this, but would these be compatible with the Interfit Stellar head ? Are the fittings universal, or would i need a particular type stand etc ?

Thank you in advance.

Also look into Alienbees. Great product, really great prices. I saved quite a bit with them.

wow quick reply, thank you.

yes i had looked at alienbees, but im in the UK, and they seem to be hard to find over here ?

Be careful when buying softboxes. Every strobe manufacturer has it's own way of connecting a softbox. They are called "speed rings" and you have to make sure that the box you buy will fit. I would check out the interfit site for details.

In uk buy lighting from the well known makes, Bowens, Elinchrome, etc., its false economy buying from unknowns so save up for a suitable kit, also calumet softboxes are reasonable and can be fitted to these makes with a universal adapter/speedring.

Look for lighting kits from these makes and buy the most powerful you can afford, they can always be turned down but never up, good makes will last a lifetime, lesser quality products end up in the bin. A single light is about as useful as a chocolate fireguard in a studio, 2/3 lights are really a minimum, then you'll need to learn how to use them, there are good books and