Studio Photography

mike3767

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
I'm venturing into the studio photography. Here is my first picture with my poor mans studio. I purchased the kit from my local camera store for $150. I purchased the felt from a local fabric store and here is what I got. Let me have your C & C. Be kind as this is my first time.

IMG_4432.jpg

IMG_4442.jpg

First question - is the felt long enough that you can pull it down more and have the floor covered with it as well? If not, get more felt )

Second - Puppy dog's eye on camera left is not in focus. A more narrow aperture would have been better :) Anything above f/4 would be better :)

I have never played with lights, but your setup looks like the same one I have been looking at...

As for the photo, I would brighten the left side of the face a bit more and maybe move the light on the right side around to get rid of the glare in the dogs eye.

So I take it that those are continuous lights? You need to increase your shutter speed, for one. The image looks soft due to camera shake from .4s @ 60mm. I suggest increasing your ISO, or returning the continuous light kit and getting cheap strobes.

I have never played with lights, but your setup looks like the same one I have been looking at...

As for the photo, I would brighten the left side of the face a bit more and maybe move the light on the right side around to get rid of the glare in the dogs eye.

That glare is called a specular highlight and those are very important in portraiture :)

Yes, the felt is long enough I just rolled it up so our dog wouldn't destroy it and I did have it on a tripod but was too excited to take pics and didn't plug in my remote. I do agree that the left side is dark and will do better the next time but thanks for the help, I hope to get better as time goes on. Jeffielove, how do you get rid of the glare in the eye?

You don't. It's called a catchlight and it is desireable in portraits.