suggestions for a wide angle lens for canon 40D

GATORGIRL

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Hi Everyone,

I am just getting started in photography and I have a canon 40D camera. I was wondering if anyone knows a good wide angle lens to buy for taking mostly picures of people. I am going to attempt my first try at a large outdoor family shoot 30+ people in this family shoot and I will need to get a wide angle lens? I do not have alot of money to spend right now but of course want a good one that will make these family photos look nice! Any help or suggestions for what lens I would need for this would really help.

Thanks alot:)

You could also rent a lens to get the quality you want if you can't afford to buy one. Then you can decide if you need a wide-angle to use more than this special occasion. I most certainly LOVE mine :)

What lens do you have now? What is your widest/shortest focal length and how much wider do you want/need to go?

Wide angle lenses aren't usually the best choice for shooting people...the distortion can be very unflattering to people. It's better if you can just back up and shoot with a lens that isn't so wide.

Thanks everyone for the help.

I only have the lens that came with it is a zoom lens EF-28-135mm. I just got the camera not to long ago and like I said I am only trying this out for a hobby now I know I have lots more stuff to buy and lots more to learn. So I am trying to start some where.

I have been doing photos of people and when I back up to get the whole body or group of people in the shot I lose tons of detail and you can't even really see there face. I need something that I can get a whole person in and it look up close and clear of the whole body. Also in a large group I want to get all of them in the shot and still be able to see all the details and it not look so far away.