super low camera prices online? Seems sketchy, what's wrong here?

MelissaHaws

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
So I've noticed when shopping around for the best prices online for camera's that there is a handful of stores that are always selling cameras at far less than other stores. For instance, the 60d is going for $900 most everywhere, but then it's only $500 here Canon EOS 60D 18 MP CMOS Digital SLR Camera with 3.0-Inch LCD (Body Only)
or only only $770 here http://www.ibuysonline.com/products...ml?gdftrk=gdfV23382_a_7c1224_a_7c4635_a_7c517 . Are these just good sales and deals or is something wrong with this picture? I am not experienced with buying camera equipment online so I'm a little worried about getting ripped off.

You should be worried about getting ripped off.

Photographers buy from mostly 3 reputable dealers that I can think of off the top of my head: Adorama, B&H, and KEH (KEH is all used). I would never ever consider buying a camera that discounted below retail unless I planned on repairing it.

Web sites that offer prices like that are scam artist sites. There is a WELL-KNOWN modus operandi. 1) Low price quoted. 2)You order, they Call you, or you call them to order and 3) Salesman tacks on extras, like the battery, a warranty, the neck strap, all as "extras". If you balk, the product will suddenly be OUT OF STOCK...they will try and up-sell you all sorts of stuff.

Trust me...NO DEALER IN THE ENTIRE WORLD can deliver a Canon d-slr at $400 UNDER retail list price. Not on a $899 item.

THis same, exact scam has been going on since the 1960's. Seriously. If you DO place an order with one of these low-ballers, you WILL BE, I promise you, ripped off, well and truly, six ways to Sunday.

^^ +1 to what Derrel said - if you jump through all their marketing salesman hoops you might get a camera; which might have all the normal contents, but you'll have paid as much if not far more than a leading trusted retailer.