Suprise! I have a question!

primus diddy

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Okay, here's the deal. I'm saving up for a Nikon D50 kit. I'll be getting the kit with the 13-55mm zoom (I think) and a memory card (512MB). All together it comes to a little more than $700...I need $200 more pending a new job interview...and here I digress. Back on topic. I have some experience with 35mm SLR from a class at school I took, and the kit lens coming with the Nikon isn't very fast (can't remember the aperture range off the top of my head). I already know I'll want another lens soon after I buy the camera. Here's where I have a question. What should I get? I'm not very into wide angle at the moment. I only have experience with a 50mm lens from the cameras at school. I'm thinking about getting that ~$200 Nikon 50mm which is apparently their fastest lens right now.

Anywho, I like close-up/macro (a little macro experience with my Coolpix 5000) to "normal" photography. My budget is below $400. I can't think of much else I can say that'd help you....I really like the Lens Babies.

Oh yeah...I never asked a question :lmao: What lens do you recommend beyond the kit?

I know Canon makes a cheap 50mm f/1.8 lens that costs around $70. I think Nikon makes something very similar. Both also make a f/1.4 version that's quite a bit more expensive, and personally I don't think is really worth the extra money.

I would also suggest a cheap 50mm F1.8, it will give you a nice fast lens for very little money.

Keep in mind that a 50mm will feel like a 75mm on a D50 because of the crop factor.

primus diddy said:
Thanks guys! What's the "crop factor" though?

First thing you need to know is that the sensor on a D50, while much larger than the sensor on any* point & shoot digital camera...is smaller than 35mm film.