Switching brands

jjphotos

No longer a newbie, moving up!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hey guys, I'm just trying to get some feedback on whether to switch from Canon to Nikon. I've been looking to upgrade for a while. My current equipment includes: Canon T3i, 18-55mm kit lens, 55-250mm telephoto, 50mm f/1.8.

My father has a friend who is able to get Nikon products for around 50% off retail price (head office employee). So I was thinking it would better to switch to Nikon in the long run (gathering equipment, lenses, etc.) even though I've heard Canon is outclassing Nikon in certain aspects and I already have some of the lower priced Canon products.

I'm looking to get a camera body and 2-3 lens if I switch to Nikon gearing toward a more intermediate level if I do switch. I know some die-hard fans for both so I would like some opinions on this.

I am currently a student so I don't have that much disposable income.

Last edited:
100% if you can get that kind of discount on all things Nikon and you only have a wee bit invested in Canon. Just make sure you go try the camera you desire out - meaning how it feels in your hand, button layout, menu etc. Other than that....Jump Jump Jump to it.

Oh, what do you shoot mostly?

I guess it boils down to how much you value your current equipment. Make sure you try before you buy!

100% if you can get that kind of discount on all things Nikon and you only have a wee bit invested in Canon. Just make sure you go try the camera you desire out - meaning how it feels in your hand, button layout, menu etc. Other than that....Jump Jump Jump to it.

Thanks for the input! I mostly shoot cityscape and landscapes. Are the Canon and Nikon user interfaces vastly different?

I guess it boils down to how much you value your current equipment. Make sure you try before you buy!
Yeah, I'll have to go physically try some before I get too ahead of myself haha.