Taking indoor pictures in large dark church, auditorium, etc. with Kodak Z710

smclaug

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I can't seem to take good pictures with my Kodak zZ710. My daughter had a performance in an auditorium and the pictures I took came out dark and blury. The same has happened in the past in our church. I know I am at quite a distance when taking the pictures and I have attempted to use the manual settings (i.e. adjusting the ISO, apeture and shutter speed) but I just can't seem to find the right combination. I know in cases such as these using the flash really doesn't do anything because of the distance. It seems as if the pictures look good on the digital display but when I actually take them they are terrible. Any help would be greatly appreciated. I have had this camera for many years and I can take great outdoor pictures but I am a newbie when it comes to understanding how all of this stuff works (i.e. ISO, apeture and shutter speed, etc.)

Thanks!

Here are the specs for my camera:

Sensor type1/2.5 in. CCD
CCD total pixels7.4 MP (3152 × 2342)
Effective pixels7.1 MP (3082 × 2314)
Lens38–380 mm (35 mm equiv.) f/2.8–f/3.7 SCHNEIDER-KREUZNACH VARIOGON Lens
Zoom10X optical, 5X advanced digital zoom, total zoom range 50X
Shutter speed8–1/1000 sec. in 1/3 step increments
LCD2.0 in. (5.0 cm) indoor/outdoor color TFT display
Viewfinderhigh resolution (201K pixels), electronic
Storage32 MB internal memory[1]available, SD/MMC card expansion slot
Focus TypeTTL imager AF system
Auto focus modesnormal AF, macro AF, infinity AF
Focus range
  • normal (wide): 2.0 ft (0.6 m)–infinity, tele: 6.6 ft (2.0 m)–infinity
  • macro (wide): 4.7 in.–2.3 ft (12–70 cm), tele: 3.9–6.9 ft (1.2–2.1 m)
  • infinity (wide): 65 ft (20 m)–infinity, tele: 65 ft (20 m)–infinity
Auto focus controlsingle, continuous
Auto focus zonesTTL multi-zone AF, center zone AF
AF (Auto Focus) assist lightyes
ISO sensitivityauto, 64, 100, 200, 400, 800[2]