Which of this two versions of the picture is better?

Gerardo_G

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
The picture is for presenting one of my works: Sculpting a Crane. My intention is for the observer to be able to see the subject as is but to also make it look more interesting. I used the dark background as an ethical way to "conceal" an element I dislike of the subject: the space between two layers at the right edge. It looks like a black vertical line in the picture. That space between the layers compromises the desired illusion of being a heavy block. Version A was criticized for being too dark to show the subject properly, that was why I made version B.

Which of this two versions of the picture is better and why?

A.

uc

B.
uc

I'm an amateur with an amateur camera. I probably didn't use the best settings:

Camera: Canon PowerShot A1200
Lens: 5-20 mm
Shot at 5 mm (shot wide open)
Exposure: Auto exposure, 1/13 sec, f/2.8, ISO 200
Flash: Off, Did not fire
Focus: Single, Manual AF point selection, with a depth of field of from 0.2 m to infinity.
AF Area Mode: Single-point AF

Then I used Photoshop to edit things like brightness, contrast, exposure, intensity, and saturation.

If you want to share any other feedback please don't forget to answer as well the question at the top of this thread.

Thanks in advance :).

Last edited:
I like the strongly dark contrasted background in the first shot. The background is a bit muddy in the second shot.

But at the same time... the art is a bit too dark in the first shot. I feel like you needed to kick a little more light into that lower dark area.

Thanks TCampbell! I'm interested in trying out increasing the light where you mentioned. I can do that in PhotoShop CS6, right? Would you mind explaining a bit about how can I do it?

It's better to have used, or reshoot using a real light, but you could use the Dodge tool in Ps.