taking pics of birds & landscape (settings reccomended)

ISI_Stang06

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Website
www.myspace.com
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
im planning on taking some pics tomorrow of the wildlife in a local state park tomorrow afternoon around 3-5 pm in the afternoon. i just got my D80 w/ a 18-135mm lens and im not sure if it will be the best to take pics of birds but hey, im a newbie and gotta start somewhere. its all about testing tomorrow to see what i like and ill come back later.

but i was hoping you guys could give me some pointers on the settings i should be running and in what mode for landscape and wildlife, such as what shutterspeed, aprerature, whitebalance, exposure level, etc.

thanks guys for the help

Use whatever shutterspeed that gives you correct exposure at the given aperture with the set ISO. Set the whitebalance to what will give you the correct color temperature.

There is no dead set settings for shooting anything. It all depends on the available light. Only you will know this at the moment you are there ready to take the shot.

I'll try and elaborate a little more. For birds in flight, you want a shutter speed of at least 1/125 to freeze them (lower if you want a 'moving' look), if you're hand-holding your camera, keep your shutter speed at 1/60 or above to eliminate camera shake, and higher as your focal length gets longer (shutter speed should always be at least 1/fl). Set your white balance as appropriate for the conditions (sun, shade, etc) altough 'Auto' usually works well (and if you shoot RAW, you can change it in PP). Check your apeture using your DoF preview to ensure that you've got the right DoF, that is, you may not want a sharply focused background. (Oh, and shoot in Manual).

Hope that helps.
~John