Tamron 18-270mm f/3.5-6.3

Bellaluna

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Does anyone have this lens? Do you like it?

This summer I'm going on a Study Abroad trip for school to London, Normandy, and Paris and I'd like a good walk-around lens. Since I'm going with a school group, I'm not going to have the time to be switching back and forth between lenses. I own a D90 and already own the 18-105, the 55-200, and the 50 f/1.8. I'm considering selling my 18-105 and 55-200 in order to buy the Tamron. Is this a good choice? I'm only a hobby photographer, so don't want to spend a ton of money (since I'm already laying down a lot to go on this trip!), but I want something decent since this is a once in a lifetime trip.

Thanks!

Your going to get a bunch of "Super Zooms and decent don't belong in the same sentance!!" reply's...

I've never used it so i cant say, but i wouldn't expect it to be better then your current lenses (probably worse at the start and end of the range).

Your going to get a bunch of "Super Zooms and decent don't belong in the same sentance!!" reply's...

I figured that :mrgreen:. I know it's not a professional quality lens, hence the price. I would like to take nice pictures while I'm there, but I cannot shell out thousands for a lens at the moment. Trust me, I drool everyday over the 24-70 2.8 and 70-200 2.8, but I simply do not have the funds. I just want to have a lens that will maximize my chances to get the pictures I want while in a highly scheduled group setting. If this isn't the lens to do it with, I'm open to other suggestions :).

If I were going on a Study Abroad trip and my objective was to not have to change lenses but still get some nice shots, I would NOT buy the Tamron 18-270--I'd buy a decent bridge camera instead.

You could bring the 18-105mm...

I've been to most of the places you've listed... what are you mostly wanting to shoot?