Teen Portrait (c&c)

YoMoe

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Website
picasaweb.google.com
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Please let me know how I can improve for next time. This was my first time shooting portraits in manual. I was using natural light from a large window and my external flash sb600 in the hot shoe with a gary fong light diffuser bounced off the ceiling. I'd love any and all suggestions. Posing, lighting, settings, PP ... anything.

1. f5.6 1/250 iso 1600 (18-105mm lens)
5231253915_83146c02d6_b.jpg

2. I switched lenses and lowered the iso. It was set from a previous shoot.
f2.2 1/250 ISO 200
5231846394_79a43501b1_b.jpg

3. f1.8 1/250 ISO 200
5231256197_bc4d347bd1_b.jpg

I like the combination of skin and background colour in the last one. Can't give you any advice myself as I am a noob too.

First one looks a tiny bit soft. Im not a huge fan of angled shots but I like the angle here.
2nd is better. You lost a tiny bit of detail in the hoodies whites.
I like third the best for color range. Its warm and looks like you almost caught her before she laughed.

This is just my opinion and I'm still learning as well.

first two seem too soft, third one, you got it right on the eyes but it QUICKLY falls off by the cheek. Second one may have been a better pose to pull out more, show more of her knee and leg. keep shooting though looking good

I don't know why they are soft. :grumpy: I had the focus set to Dynamic Area AF - maybe Single Area AF would have been a better choice? The other choice is Auto Area. I have a Nikon d300. What focusing mode do you think is best for portraits? Here is another version of the second pose that is not as tight. The rest of the set are here.

5231255273_1530279202_b.jpg