Test images from the T2i...hummmm

Garmonbozia

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Just picked up the T2i and it is my first attempt into DSLR photography.

Some test images. I'm not super impressed at the outset but, I'll be honest, that's probably because I am having to learn how to use this thing. The auto-focus is a bit tricky and for some strange reason on Auto mode the flash kept popping up when it was not needed (full daylight). Getting in close to focus was as tricky with the kit lense. So, I see what others were saying now about needing a whack of lenses to get the job done. I don't know if the color is truly represented in the shots of the berries but, agian, might be my settings and not getting proper focus.

Thoughts?

Flickr: photo_list's Photostream

You'll get more comments if you actually put the pictures in the post.

Without seeing the berries for ourselves, I don't know that any of us can tell you whether or not the colors are representative of the berries either, haha.

In Auto, the flash is going to pop up most of the time... If you want to avoid that, either turn it off or learn to use the other modes.

The kit lens can get up fairly close to things, but it's not going to give you any real macro capabilities if that's what you mean by "close" and that's the limitation of the lens, not the camera. You also need to make sure that if you're AFing on something up close that there's enough contrast for the AF to *work*.

It sounds like to me that all these issues you're having is a result of needing to spend more time with your camera and the manual :sillysmi:

Thanks. I thought of the whole berry thing once I posted. Maybe I can mail you one. :p

I think a lot of it has to do with learning more but I think my initial instinct was figuring out focus...how to get all in strong focus instead of what is in the centre. I believe there are better camera settings then I am using. I generally use P mode once I get more comfortable.