The Beginnings of YOUR photography

I took 3 years of photography in High School--learned on film. But I was never a scholar and really put little effort into learning/experimenting, I regret that. I was much more interested in my Computer Graphics and Desktop Publishing classes at the time.

since we are posting pics, here's the actual camera I learned on:
DSC_9462.JPG

and my 50mm f/1.4
DSC_9455.JPG

Can you tell a HS student used it? Dat filter ring! Thank god for all metal construction.

I also worked for a 1-hour photo after school/summer breaks in college when they still had those things.

During college I only had a little Kodak PNS (before cell phone cameras were a big thing) and that was better than nothing.

I went into graphic design after school and once I graduated I upgraded to a D40 because I missed having an SLR. I mainly used it to take pictures of cars on the track and at autocrosses, my big hobby at the time. Nothing really beyond that.

But it really wasn't until last May when I went to the Dominican Republic that I really got back into photography to do more than just take "good" pictures. I ended purchasing a Sigma 17-70 f/2.8-4 lens, for my D3100 which replaced my D40, so I'd just have one decent lens I could travel with and while there I took some pretty good shots that I'm proud of.

That really sparked up my interest again beyond just taking car pics. Now I think most car photography is incredibly boring.

Since then in the short spam of a year after joining here, I went from a D3100 to a D5100, replaced my 55-300mm with a 70-300mm, sold my 10-24mm and bought a 85mm 1.8G, bought a second flash and remote triggers and modifiers like umbrellas and softboxes. And now since I started part my little racecar and moving my money from cars back into this hobby, I've upgrade further to a D600 and a 24-70mm F/2.8 and I'm about to pull the trigger on a 70-200mm F/2.8 once I can sell my wheels/tires (today hopefully if this guy doesn't flake on me!!!).