The Beginnings of YOUR photography

JoshuaSimPhotography

No longer a newbie, moving up!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hi again!!
So, to celebrate my 1000th post and my promotion to TPF Junkie, (I know, it took me only 2 months and I’m sorry if I ’spammed’ your feed) I decided to start a thread about the beginnings of YOUR photography.
I want to know how you got into photography AND how you learnt a majority of your photographic knowledge.
I do know that there has been a thread like this before but it seems to be ‘dead’. SO I want to give the new posters a go by starting a fresh one. It’s kinda like a movement…the new posters movement!
I got into photography the first time I held a DSLR, one of my dad’s friends let me play with it, and the moment I touched it…I was bitten by the photography bug! But In this day and age, I myself had easy access to the internet, so I learnt 99% of my knowledge through the internet, kinda like being self taught.
And if so, are there any people that learnt a majority of their knowledge through TPF?

Looking forward to your stories,
JoshuaSimPhotography:)

Joined the camera club in high school out of curiosity, back in 198*Cough* and found I liked it... things just sort of grew.

I was gifted a used Minolta SR-T 101 and a couple of lenses (1981). Loved the technical, artistic duality of photography.

The day after I got the camera I went to the closest public library and checked out some photography books to get started. Once I had read all that library had on hand, I started going to the main library in Downtown San Diego. I also started building my own personal photography reference library by buying my own copy of many of the books I borrowed from the library.