The first week with my camera, some nature shots (EOS 7D)

FlightIsPossible

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Well this is my second post to the forum, I just joined today. About a week ago I upgraded from a PowerShot SX120is to a EOS 7D. I am very, VERY happy with the camera so far. I am very new to photography... I always loved taking pics, but I just now started learning all the technical aspects of it. I haven't had a chance to get out much with it, but here are a few pics from the first week with my new cam.
(I am very new, so any tips are greatly appreciated)

Bull Elk(wild lol), Near "Royal Blue" Tennessee
IMG_0575trimmed.jpg

Elk
IMG_0571trimmed.jpg

Elk
IMG_0430trimmedandautoadjusted.jpg

Dog
IMG_0090.jpg

Bird, Smokey Mountain NP
IMG_0162trimmed.jpg

Not bad at all for just starting out.

I think #3 is more effective than #1 and #2 because of all the empty textureless, colorless, and very bright sky.

Not bad at all for just starting out.

I think #3 is more effective than #1 and #2 because of all the empty textureless, colorless, and very bright sky.

I completely agree. I wasn't happy with those either for the reasons ya mentioned.

Any suggestion what would have made the most difference? Different position, maybe different metering mode?

Last edited:
Congratulations on the new camera.

Pictures 1 & 2 have blown out skies. You solved that problem to some extent in picture #3 with the use of the trees, but the Deer? is over exposed. As you suggested yourself, a tighter cropping would have really made it a much better composed picture. Once you composed a tighter image, you should use spot metering targeting the next portion of the deer. Since that area is darker then neutral grey, open up a 1/3 of a stop.

I actually like your bird picture. It's well composed, and exposed properly.

Joel