dhawald3

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
I am just learning photography as a hobby on my new
Fuji finepix s9600.

Here is my doubt

When I am in A mode and
I set the aperture to f2.8 and then zoom in the lens the aperture becomes f4.9

Is this same as setting the aperture to f4.9 and then zooming in to get f4.9??

will I get the same thing in the two cases??

Fuji finepix s9600.

Here is my doubt

When I am in A mode and

It sounds like the lens is a variable aperture lens. f/2.8-f/4.9. At certain focal lengths, the minimum aperture changes.

^^^ yup

The more telephoto a lense it is to more expenisive and harder it becomes to keep the aperture low. This camera is not SLR but the an example is kind of why they 70-200mm f/2.8 costs over a thousand dollars more than the 70-300mm f/4-5.6, even though its less zoom.

Some lenses are 'constant aperture' and have the same maximum throughout the zoom range. These are usually the higher end lenses. The cheaper zoom lenses usually have a 'variable' max aperture, so it gets smaller as you zoom.

To understand this better, you need to understand that the F-number is actually a ratio of the size of the aperture to the focal length. F2.8 is 1:2.8...but when you zoom out, you change the focal length and the ratio changes to 1:4.9...which is F4.9.

^^^ yup

The more telephoto a lense it is to more expenisive and harder it becomes to keep the aperture low. This camera is not SLR but the an example is kind of why they 70-200mm f/2.8 costs over a thousand dollars more than the 70-300mm f/4-5.6, even though its less zoom.

Ya that's all fine
but I haven't got my answer yet

What I need to know is that will there be any difference in the two methods
mentioned above.

Fuji finepix s9600.

Here is my doubt

When I am in A mode and

No. These are two different situations.

First, be advised that large "f-numbers" mean small apertures and verse visa.