this is pretty rough....

EandSphotography

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
So, i'm still learning all my new gadgets i just recently purchased and im just not getting what i want out of it. Tonight, i was playing around with RAW files , which that doesnt seem to be too big of a deal. Got it figured out pretty quickly. I did some shots of some christmas ornaments on my tree and was playing around with the different white balance options and such. Got one picture of a snowman edited and saved and converted it to jpeg. Opened up photoshop and printed it from there and while it looks good on my screen, it is just coming out way darker on my printer. I understand that if the screen isnt properly calibrated that could be part of the issue, but this seems way off. I've tried changing printer settings in letting the printer handle color and also letting PSE handle color and while i could see a difference between the two ( printer handling color was more red) it didnt change the darkness between the screen and the printer. I am considering purchasing a seperate monitor and spyder3 to calibrate it and use that instead of my laptop but if it's not really going to be much better then i hate to drop more money into it. I'm beginning to think that it's not even worth trying to print at home and just bring it to a photo store to have whatever printed. But my concern about that is, if i edit the file and what it looks like on my computer isnt what it really is, then the print from a photo store probably wouldnt be much better i'm assuming.

I dont know honestly, i'm beginning to think this was just another bad choice of hobbies once again.

Oh, here's another thing... i'm not sure if this affects anything but from photoshop when i go to print i get a message saying
"Some postscript specific print settings(interpolation,calibration,encoding)will be ignored since you are printing to a non post-script printer".