Total beginners advice pls?

adele87

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Hi there,

Been having good read through all the beginner threads and finding it so helpful! I take pictures of interiors, my comfort zone is in styling and composing a good scene. Actually getting the shot is quite challenging for me. I’ve used my iPhone up till now but recently bought the canon 200d. I’m struggling to get the type of shots I normally do with my phone. For example, in my bedroom I can easily take a shot of the bed, see part of the floor and also capture the bottom of the light fixture on the ceiling. However with the Canon, I can only get quite a wide view of the bed (can’t include anything below or above) Am I just used to the iPhone and need to practise? Or do I need a different lens?
Any advice would be so much appreciated!

Remember that the camera is a box. the real work is with the lens.

What your describing is the field of view.
The lens you are using seems to not have it.
I would first post pictures of the comparison between the two.
The lens your using on the 200d needs to be wide enough to capture all of the image.
There is alot of mechanics behind it that you will eventually learn. But the real focus should first be on the actual view itself.

Post the lens type and the folks here can help lead you in the direction you need.

For example, in my bedroom I can easily take a shot of the bed, see part of the floor and also capture the bottom of the light fixture on the ceiling. However with the Canon, I can only get quite a wide view of the bed (can’t include anything below or above) Am I just used to the iPhone and need to practise? Or do I need a different lens?
The camera function of your phone typically has a very wide angle lens, whereas the lens on your camera is not that wide. Yes, you can get a wider lens for your camera, but that is additional expense.