Total Newbie here looking for some C&C on my first shots

Digital Demise

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I went out to a local nature preserve today to try out my brand new Canon Rebel XS. I have the kit lens and a EF-S 55-250mm lens. Any comments or advice are welcomed!

*UPDATE* I added some more photos - please let me know what you think about 7-10.

Photo 1
1.jpg

Photo 2
2.jpg

Photo 3
3.jpg

Photo 4
4.jpg

Photo 5
5.jpg

Photo 6
6.jpg

Last edited:
I like #3 through 6 (especially #3 and #6 - the little girl is a total sweetie), but I notice you've centred your subjects in all of your shots. Rusty9's link is worth a read and will likely help you get better photos. But keep in mind there are times with a centred subject isn't a bad thing.

Thanks for the link rusty9.... Do I pretty much always want to use the rule of thirds?

I like #3 through 6 (especially #3 and #6 - the little girl is a total sweetie), but I notice you've centred your subjects in all of your shots. Rusty9's link is worth a read and will likely help you get better photos. But keep in mind there are times with a centred subject isn't a bad thing.

Thanks for the input Lazy Photographer. I am going to look through some of my photos I took today and see if I have some more that follow the rule of thirds hehe.

The little girl is my youngest daughter. I probably took 500 photos of her today.

Does anyone have a comment on photo #2?

It was my wife's favorite and I was wondering what I could have done differently.