Total Photography Newb!!!

wmc1117

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Hi, I am totally new to Photography...but have always had a love for photos and the magic that can be captured in a single picture. I have finally decided that I want to give photography a try of my own. Therefore, I have come to you guys for help. I have a few questions....
1) I want a decent camera to work with...willing to spend around 300-400 (I mainly want to take nature shots but thats subject to change.)
2) Lens???? No idea
3) Digital or Film? differences, Of these two, pros and cons; suggestions?
4) How do you recommend I go about learning the basics and such?
I have a lot of patience and a lot of passion for photography and am really looking forward to joining the TPF community and taking shots of my own. Any help would be greatly appreciated guys! Thanks

I'd suggest that you go for a digital SLR camera if you can, as these will give you the foundation for a complete camera system and is more easily upgradable than a compact camera. Both Canon and Nikon make good entry level dSLR cameras, and many other brands such as olympus and Pentax do as well.

Most dSLR cameras come with a "kit" lens. This lens isn't the highest quality, but it will serve you well as you develop the skills.

I'd recommend digital. It not only offers instant feedback (invaluable when you are learning), but you'll never pay for film. You can also adjust your white balance and ISO rating easily, and you'll have the histogram to act as a guide to exposure.

For learning the basics, there are lots of tutorials. You can also pick up some books (I recoomend anything by Scott kelby about Photography, but there are also lots of other books) and I also recommend looking through the tutorials in my signature. And this website is a tremendous resource as well, the people are friendly and more than happy to help you learn.

^^^^ I agree