Totally confused about exposure

Pband

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Dear friend,
I am very new in photography. My economic condition is poor. I have managed to buy a Canon PowerShop S5IS to get my hands used to. I have also bought an old film camera (Nikon 2020 with 28-200 Sigma lens) but am really afraid of using it.
Please help me as I don't know how to start with and with what. My main problem is exposure. I just can't manage it. I am posting some of my photos. Please help me commenting on them and suggesting me how to improve exposure.
One more question, do I always have to edit my photos (not just cropping and resizing) a photo after I take a shot? I don't know photoshop. Do you always edit a photo and then upload it?

The Sparrow (One of my first photos)

3421163451_c4f68041f5_b.jpg

The Perfect Peace
3421999238_a15a8bf097_o.jpg

Sunset over Cemetary

3421196249_0c9abc65dc_o.jpg

Flowers in Cage
3421230241_920c0f10ec_o.jpg

The Dull Flower
(Can anybody please explain me why the flower's color looks so dull?)
3421235015_c815d18bc4_o.jpg

Little Island
(This is one of my worst shot for a beautiful scenary. Please tell me where am I going wrong. Why the pic has no life?)
3421241421_e81b0372e2_o.jpg

I'm not sure I'm seeing any real exposure problems in these pictures. That first shot does look a bit noisy though, so you might want to keep an eye on your ISO settings. Other than that... I'd say just practice composition.

One tip - often a theme or subject type within a series of photos makes it a lot easier to comment constructivly - as otherwise there is a lot of ground to cover and most people just can't face all that work ;)