Two light setup, first attempt.

Austin Greene

Been spending a lot of time on here!
Reaction score
Website
www.austingreenephotography.com
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
To clarify: This is not my first portrait attempt. This is my first attempt at doing a portrait with more than one light.

I had a local photographer friend who volunteered to let me borrow her for some shots. At first I was shooting her with camera in hand, but found that she loosened up quite a bit after I asked her to just set the camera down. I wanted to get her one with her camera, and she wanted one with the vines. I wanted the two to have very a different feel. Somewhat harsh on the camera side (she's a pretty independent lady), while the headshot was intended to be a much softer, more personable image.

My critique: I wish the hair band weren't there, by the time we thought to remove it, the light had dramatically changed. Also, imo the lower background in the 3/4 is a tad distracting. Getting picky now: catchlights could have been better in the headshot, and I'm unsure about the shadow under her left eye (our right) it almost comes across as if it's swollen.

I'm curious to hear your thoughts, this is the first time I've shot using two lights and balancing them with the sunlight. By all means, be honest.

Tamara by TogaLive, on Flickr

Tamara by TogaLive, on Flickr

Last edited:
Man, 111 views and zip in the replies department. I'm not offended, but damn if I'm not curious. Considering that normally happens for solid images, or ones which aren't worth the time critiquing, I wonder which category these fall into...

I would say these are decent images; the lighting isn't bad, but I think your camera angle in #1 would have worked better if you'd raised it up more toward the model's eye-level.

Give it time, a lot of and welcome.