Upgrade Recommendations: Camera Body

INTeJer

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
hello experienced people! :D

i am not experienced. i just started loving my DSLR a couple years ago. i'm not aiming for pro status, nor do i expect to make any money with these skills i'm learning... i just love photography (what i've experienced so far). i haven't even developed a personal style yet (not that i can detect anyway). i love taking candids, landscapes, portraits, macros, and low-light. of course some of these are more difficult for me than others. particularly low-light and candids.

not wanting to spend a basquillion dollars on something too powerful/versatile for me to make full use of, i bought a used Canon EOS 300D, apparently one of the first serious DSLRs to cost less than $1,000 when it came out. i'm amazed by what it can do, compared to point-and-shoots... but even with the first good lens i bought for it (Canon 50mm 1.8, as opposed to the kit 18-55mm f3.5-5.6 that came with the camera), i'm having trouble in low-light, and the speed (focusing, processing, etc.) feels like a real hindrance when trying to take quality candids.

so i've done some Googling and found that most people seem to believe that the lens one uses is often more important than the body. they say they'd rather have great glass on an inferior camera than the other way around. i would really benefit from hearing some 'real-time' opinions on that.