Upgrading from XSi

Charles89

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
So,

I just got a fairly well payed summer job (Im a college student )

Right now I have a Canon XSi, and I am thinking of going for a bigger camera.

I am thinking of buying a 50D or a 7D (full frames are out of my budget right now :p ).

The main reason im switching is for ergonomics, to get a camera that feels less like a ''toy''. I have huge hands and sometimes I dont like the XSi. Eventho the XSi takes decent pictures. I would like to get more iso and maybe faster shutter speed, as I like shooting close-ups of flowers and sometimes 1/4000 is just not enough.

I know the 7D as some more features like HD videos and 18 or 19 AF points etc...

Help me please :p

im not sure what your question is.. But, i would reccomend the nikon d300(im a nikon guy). I know its a great camera, and has 51 af points, and alot of insanely awesome aspects. Check it out.

I want help to decide between the 50D and the 7D...Nikon is out of the way since I dont want to change my lenses.

Well, I went to my local store to try them out a little, and I'll probably get the 7D lol.

I guess I wanted to get convinced of getting a 50D instead of a 7D, because of the price difference, but I felt in instant love with the 7D.

If ergonomics are your main issue, have you considered just adding a grip to your camera? It greatly improves the feel of those small cameras.

In what situations do you find that 1/4000 is not good enough, but 1/8000 will be?

Keep in mind that with a sensor as packed as the one on the 7D, most experts are saying that you really need to use the highest quality lenses to get the most out of them. That's one reason why Canon is updating some of their lenses. The 70-200mm F2.8 L IS, for example. The first version is pretty darn good by most standards, but they just put out a new version that has improved sharpness etc.