Using Facebook For Marketing

im not a pro but i know 2 pro's who are on my facebook. one never uses it other than adding clients as friends. the other uses it quite a bit. both never ever upload pics to facebook because of their wacky ownership rights. the one that does use it posts the links instead, which show up as mini announcements.

i got the sense from one of them that it's irksome when clients post the pics, but if they have the rights i guess there's no stopping them. best you could do is ask to post links instead.

I follow a number of photographers on facebook. One of them uses it primarily to show images from the sessions. It is basically a mirror of his blog, except that the blog has slightly larger images, and he talks a bit more on it.

And obviously any image on FB is watermarked.

I know several photographers who use Facebook quite a lot. Part of it is putting up photos and tagging people in them. That way, all those people's friends might find see it and come to your facebook page.
Another way they use it, is to let people know about the sales & promotions they have.

The links from your profile and page have the “nofollow” tag, so they don’t convey any “link juice.” However, we are on all of them, facebook, twitter and myspace. Over 230 fans on facebook and getting higher. I post new company news, pics, specials, newsletters and more. I have had a few jobs from there but I have a LOT of teenage fans on our facebook, so I think come prom season, I think we will definitely get some bites there is a workaround to get an SEO bump from Facebook’s high PageRank. Add an RSS feed to your page using an app like SimplyRSS (or a less buggy alternative if you can find one).

I know of a friend who uses it for images as well as for announcement of events such as exhibitions etc. But the images are sort of like "teasers" that lead people to the main website. I think facebook is quite effective for organising events and making announcements though.