Very new, C&C would be nice!

Yasa

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hello everyone,

I'm very new to photography, and while this is only a hobby, I do strive to get better. I have to say, this place can be a very daunting place to start; but that's what I came here for! I've looked at many photographs here and for the most part, they leave me speechless. There is so much to learn here and I can't wait to dive head first into the more detailed threads to improve myself! I bet I could save myself a fortune on classes by just reading the tips from here. Truly an excellent site overall, and seemingly excellent members.

So, like I said; I'm new. I use a Canon Rebel XSi with a 75-300 f/4-5.6 as well as a 50 mm f/1.8. I'm looking to be critiqued fairly hard, as I'm only looking to improve! Here we go;

1: This is a photo of my Grandfather, there has been post-photo contrast editing
grandpa.jpg

2: This is of one of my grandfathers dog, Bear (again, contrast editing)
bear3.jpg

3: My flight to Vancouver
IMG_3327.jpg

4: My cousin and his girlfriend shopping in Vancouver
IMG_3711.jpg

5: My cousin and his girlfriend
IMG_3443.jpg

6:My first and only HDR;
thefences.jpg

I was wondering how everyone felt about post-photo editing such as contrast, saturation, etc. Is this considered bad form, or is it generally accepted as being part of the photography process?

Thanks everyone!

#1 you should be able to see his eyes

#4 is pretty cool

#5 is a snapshot

#6 is very good IMO, could have been improved with a bit better focus in the foreground possibly, but I still like the shot.

pic one could do with a fill flash, shadow over his face doesn't do anything for the picture. pic two is not good in my opinion, you need something else other then the dogs fur in the bg.
pic three good, especially since your shooting through a plane window. Lastly, pic 5 is too out of focus, it ruins a great shot.