Voightlander with Lanthar 2.8/50

Mr.Grumpy

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Hello all,

I recently picked up a Voightlander Vito CL, an early model> I have tried my best to figure this beastie out but real information is scarce. I still have two questions:

My camera has three marks on the top of the take-up spool. Two are red. One of them looks like a sun, the other like a lightbulb. The third is an arc of black and white squares. The whole thing rotates as the film is advanced, changing which icon is closest to the photographer as the film is exposed. What is this thing supposed to be and how do I use it correctly?

I got back my first roll of film today and I was supprised at how well the photos turned out! I got, pretty much, the framing that I wanted and the exposures were close to spot on. Now, I am no expert at all on the "guess the distance" focusing feature on the camera but, based on the DOF gauge printed on the lens barrel, all of my images, regardless of aperture, are all out of focus around the edges but generally sharp in the center. I read a thread about a fellow who fixed on of these lenses to a Canon EOS and got similar results but that's kind of an "off label" use of the lens and I'm not sure it pertains to my situation.

I went ahead and cleaned the lens off as best I could (I didn't see any dirt on there to begin with) but am leery of the cost in film and fees (and lost photos) if the next roll through is similarly "pin-hole-camera-efffect"ed. Is this kind of thing typical of these lenses or do you think my cleaning will ahve sharpened things up a bit?

Thanks

Ken

The symbols on the take-up spool are just a film type reminder. The sun is daylight color film, the light bulb is tungsten color film and the 3rd symbol is b&w film. You should be able to rotate that ring to an index to remind you of what kind of film is in the camera.