Walkabout lens

kazgee

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Hi everyone I'm kind of new to photography and new to this forum, was wondering if anyone can help me? I'm looking for a good walkabout/travel lens, I have a canon 550D with the kit lens and a 50mm prime. I was looking at a Tamron 18-200 Tamron 18-250 and Tamron 28-200mm can anyone tell me if any of them are any good or suggest another good lens?

Thank you in advance

canons 70-200 f4 L if you want to stay on a budget.

When you purchase an all in one lens you compromise on quality. The lens has to work across a HUGE range of view and that is not easy to achieve. When you go to off brand you are compromising a bit as well. So with the Tamron all in ones you are compromising twofold on the quality.

There is no reason to cross post this to multiple areas of the forum. Stick to the one area that is best for your question. We see them all in our feed for new posts.

canons 70-200 f4 L if you want to stay on a budget.

I have had this lens for five years and it's a great lens. I had the Tamron 18-270 and it is just too much of a compromise in quality. You can learn a lot by just putting the 50 on and using it as a walkaround.

I use the Tamron 18-270 most of the time. It is a little slow on the long end, but not bad. As for sharpness, I compared it to the Nikon 18-200 and the Tamron is on par with the Nikon.

Regarding the 70-200. I would NOT consider this a walkaround lens. The wide end (70mm) is TOO long. You need the range of the 18-270.

MarvinH

The super-zooms are all about compromises in favour of convenience. As far as which is the best well they are all just about equal to each other. Pick the one you like or is within your budget and go with that. By looking at the buyer reports you could believe any to the epitome of lenses.