Wanting to upgrade from the Canon 6D

AdventuresInMyTrustyBoots

No longer a newbie, moving up!
Reaction score
Website
www.facebook.com
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
My current camera is the Canon 6D and the 24-105mm. I've been wanting and saving to upgrade. I was thinking about upgrading to the Mark IV. I'm not sure that it is worth it to go with the Mark IV and the 24-105mm, since I already have the 24-105mm from my 6D. I am thinking of just getting the Mark IV and the Tamron 15-30mm F2.8 instead.

My interests in photography are mainly landscape and nightscapes. I'm still learning, but I am really loving the nightscapes right now.

What are opinions on this combo? How does the Mark IV and the Tamron 15-30 perform for night landscapes, milky way photos?

I am currently using the 6D and the Rokinon 24 for my nightscapes. Recently aquired a Rokinon 14mm, but haven't had a chance to test it yet.

How about the Mark IV and the new 16-35 F/2.8? The 24-105 will work fine on the Mark IV. Landscapes and night photo's both want a wide angle lens. For Milky Way shots it's aperture that counts but without chromatic aberrations. So a good lens goes a long way. The Sigma 35mm, F/1.4 is also a good prime lens. The Rokinon is also a fine lens.

Hi, and welcome to the forum!
While I definitely understand the whish for any upgrade ;) what is it that you think or whish a new camera has, that would make your images or your workflow better?

Might be worth testing the Rokinon 14mm as the wide lens, and the 24mm Rokinon as the not-so-wide "longer" option.

Wondering how well the 14 and 24mm Rokinons are corrected for coma, which is like, a big deal for star-shooters, and which needs to be corrected in the lens itself, not in software. I dunno...I am not a star shooter, and I like longer focal length landscapes so you'll not hear me advocating for a 15 to 30mm lens for full frame shooting.