Wedding photography ?? and lens ??

Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hey guys!

So I already know yal will say dont do it but I'm not asking that. One of my bestfriends is getting married in CT and asked me to come out to photograph it for her bc well she just doesn't ahve the $$. I was already planning a trip back home so just changed teh dates. Long story short her little girl was sick her x wont pay child support etc etc and I have no problem doing this as a friend. She has seen my work and I know im not a professional but I have a good understanding and am not affraid of the task at hand except ONE PART!

Another friend had a wedding reception nothing fancy just asked me to take some shots for her She wasn't paying me the lighting was HORRIBLE. I was struggling with a few things but was able to figure most out. One thing was light balance, one was metering with flash ( I struggle in that area) and the last which is the thing that bugs me the most is.....

You know those wedding shots of the couple on the dance floor doing their first dance as a married couple....awesome shot EVERYONE has to get it. I could not get it make my background black like how most are and the couple properly exposed. My first question is, Why? Why couldn't I achieve that affect. more importantly How do I achieve that? What do I need as far as equipment goes to achieve that? My flash was on the camera will buyig the equipment to get it off camera help with this?

I have the canon t2i with the 2 kit lens, the nifty 50 and 430ex ii flash...

My questions are:

How do I properly expose people in poorly lighted rooms but keep the dark dark and now look like HARSH flash?

What lens or equipment should I rent? I'm not rockafella I'm willing to rent some stuff but JEssie does understan what I can and can not do.