Wedding Photography Camera Upgrade

KatieBell

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hello,

I'm mainly a portrait/family photographer, however, I've done a few craigslist weddings recently (very cheap 2 hours, less than $300 smaller than 50 guests, the majority of my weddings are 8-10 people!) I am obviously doing them to create a portfolio, and get better technique at doing weddings so I can eventually take on bigger weddings. Currently I refuse anything over 50 attendees. I am looking to upgrade my equipment in the next few months and want to know fellow photographers feelings on D7500...vs looking at a mirrorless sony a6500. I've only ever shot with a Nikon. If you made the switch, do you prefer your DSLR over the mirroless or vice versa? pros cons? Is one significantly better for weddings?

You're a beginner?

Full frame for weddings, or a D500 if you want to stay with a APS-C sensor.

D7500 will do fine. Your clients get what they pay for.

You're a beginner?

Full frame for weddings, or a D500 if you want to stay with a APS-C sensor.

Yes! I'm trying to get about 20 or so small weddings under my belt before I go for bigger weddings. Thanks for the advice!

Invest in fast full frame lenses and off camera flashes. When you upgrade cameras, you can reuse those too :)

You don't need a full frame. I know tons of Wedding Photographers using crop sensor (typically Fujifilm XT2 or XPro2).
The client doesn't give a flip if you're using full frame (and it costs more).
If you're serious about wedding photography, concentrate on your marketing, your image and your packages offered. And FFS start charging more. Cheap weddings look cheap and there's no way to freshen that and make it look good. Your branding counts for much more than your camera.

Offer to assist higher end photographers for $200 to $300 a day and learn from that.

Invest in fast full frame lenses and off camera flashes. When you upgrade cameras, you can reuse those too :)