Wedding Question

melissa_sinha

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
I have some questions I hope you can help with. I have been photographing weddings for 2 years (about 17 total) and have been running into a small problem. When I am photographing I will have certain guests at the wedding getting in my way. I am not quite sure how to say please move. My assistant does a really good job telling guests without being rude. Do I put something in my contract restricting photos? Also right now I have three packages, the first cover preceremony, ceremony and photos is church after. The second is all that including the cake cutting and dinner. The third is all day coverage to the grand march. Recently I have been thinking about charging by the hour, but I am not sure how to handle a situation where time runs over. Do you have any suggestions.

Welcome to the forum. I have moved your question into a thread of it's own.

When I am photographing I will have certain guests at the wedding getting in my way. I am not quite sure how to say please move. My assistant does a really good job telling guests without being rude. Do I put something in my contract restricting photos?
A lot of photographers will put into their contract that they are to be the only photographer...and that if guests are taking photos, that is a breech of the contract and you have the right to leave. Actually leaving would be a last resort and I wouldn't recommend doing that...but having that in your contract puts you in a position of power. Also, you don't want to be rude, so it's better if you get someone else to enforce this. Ideally, you should tell the bride & groom and have them tell the family & guests before the day of the wedding. Also, you could ask the Officiant to make an announcement before the ceremony.